DA celebrates youth month with swearing in of two new DA MPLs

Fltr: Andrew Whitfield, Bobby Stevenson (DA Leader in the Provincial Legislature), Noxolo Kiviet (Speaker), Nomvano Zibonda and Mlibo Qoboshiyane (Deputy Speaker)

Nomvano Zibonda and Andrew Whitfield, with Marshall von Buchenroder (DA Chief Whip), Bobby Stevenson (DA Legislature Leader) and Noxolo Kiviet (Legislature Speaker) looking on.

Today, two members of the Democratic Alliance, namely Andrew Whitfield and Nomvano Zibonda, were sworn in as members of the Eastern Cape Provincial Legislature.

Nomvano Zibonda is 32-years of age and now becomes the youngest member of the legislature. Andrew Whitfield, at 35 years of age, also highlights the DA’s commitment to recognising the importance of the youth.

Andrew Whitfield is the Provincial Chairperson of the DA in the Eastern Cape and a former member of the Mayoral Committee of the Nelson Mandela Bay Metro for economic development. He also formerly served in the National Assembly as an MP. He will serve on the Portfolio Committees on Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs and on Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism in the legislature.  He has a BA. Hons degree in Political Science

Nomvano Zibonda, who comes from Alice, has a B-Ed degree and is a qualified teacher.  She served as a councillor in the Raymond Mhlaba Municipality and has been part of our success story at the University of Fort Hare.  She will serve on the  Portfiolio Committees on Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture, on Rural Development and Agrarian Reform as well as the Office of the Premier.

Both these MPLs have risen up through the ranks of the DA and have been participants in our extensive leadership development programmes. As an opportunity party, there is no holding back young people with talent and ability.

I am extremely proud that we can have members of their calibre joining us and they will strengthen our team and the role of the Democratic Alliance in the Eastern Cape in working for change.  — Bobby Stevenson MPL, DA Leader in the Provincial Legislature