DA announces Eastern Cape shadow cabinet

DA announces Eastern Cape shadow cabinet

Following the finalisation of the Government of National Unity and the announcement of Premier Oscar Mabuyane’s cabinet, the Democratic Alliance (DA) has announced the official shadow cabinet for the Eastern Cape.

Each shadow MEC has been tasked with holding their counterpart accountable for exercising their powers and presenting fresh ideas and credible alternatives to government plans and policies for their respective portfolios.

We want to see the provincial legislature become a more vibrant parliament where MECs and their departments are held fully accountable and consequence management is enforced through the legislature’s powers.

The shadow cabinet is as follows.

Dr Vicky Knoetze
Caucus Leader, Leader of the Official Opposition in the EC Legislature, and Legislature Oversight
Portfolio committee member: Special Programmes

Yusuf Cassim
Chief Whip, Shadow MEC of Community Safety
Portfolio committee member: Finance, Sports, Recreation, Arts & Culture and Legislature Oversight.

Jane Cowley
Shadow MEC of Health and Standing Committee on Public Accounts (SCOPA) Spokesperson

Retief Odendaal
Shadow MEC of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Kabelo Mogatosi
Shadow MEC of Roads and Transport

Horatio Hendricks
Shadow MEC of Education

Leander Kruger
Shadow MEC of Economic Development, Environmental Affairs, and Tourism

Heinrich Muller
Shadow MEC of Sports, Recreation, Arts & Culture, as well as Shadow MEC of Rural Development and Agrarian Reform

Marlene Ewers
Shadow MEC of Social Development, as well as Special Programmes

Chantel King
Shadow MEC of Human Settlements

Malcolm Figg
Shadow MEC of Finance, as well as Shadow MEC of Public Works

Dr Knoetze will also sit on the Standing Committee on Public Accounts Committee, the Rules Committee, the Speakers Forum, the Commonwealth Forum, and the Women’s Caucus.

Cassim will also sit on the Rules Committee, the Ethics Committee, the Standing Committee of Budget and Money Bills and the Internal Arrangements Committee.

For a full breakdown of all DA member portfolio allocations: click here

The DA remains steadfast in its commitment to fighting for the people of the Eastern Cape. Our shadow cabinet will tirelessly work to ensure that the provincial government is transparent, accountable, and responsive to our communities’ needs.